How to Remove a Disk from Time Machine on Mac

All Mac clients ought to have normal auto backups setup with Time Machine, it's anything but difficult to utilize and guarantees that your own information and whole Mac is recoverable on the occasion something turns out badly with the PC. Some people go significantly further and setup excess Time Machine backups with various circles for included information security.

How to Remove a Disk from Time Machine on Mac

Yet, some of the time you may choose a specific plate drive is no more required by Time Machine, and subsequently, you'd like to expel that specific drive from the backups process without crippling all other Time Machine backups. This can be effectively done, and everything it does is quit going down to the specific drive being referred to, it doesn't kill Time Machine to different volumes, and it doesn't delete any of the backups  on the removed drive.

Deleting Hard Drive from Time Machine Backup to Stop Backups to That Drive from a Mac


Note that you don't need the drive connected with the Mac to expel it from Time Machine, this procedure is the same in all variants of OS X:

  • Pull down the  Apple menu and pick 'System Preferences'
  • Go to the Time Machine framework inclination board, then look down in the drive rundown to discover "Add or Remove Backup Disk" and snap that
How to Remove a Disk from Time Machine on Mac

  • Select the hard drive, disk, or backup volume that you need to expel from Time Machine backup , then tap on "Remove Disk"
How to Remove a Disk from Time Machine on Mac

  • Confirm that you need to expel the drive from Time Machine and quit going down to the plate being referred to
How to Remove a Disk from Time Machine on Mac

  • Exit out of System Preferences when wrapped up
The removed drive will never again be a piece of the Time Machine backup chain, which means when it's associated with the Mac it will no more trigger the programmed backup process. Moreover, physically began Time Machine backup will likewise no more go to the removed drive when it is connected.

Once more, this doesn't delete any of the information from the Time Machine drive, it just quits going down to the drive that has been evacuated. This additionally does not turn off Time Machine.

In the event that you need to, you can expel the genuine Time Machine backup  documents from the drive being referred to yourself, or even organization the drive to be Mac perfect and wipe it totally clean of some other information. There's likewise nothing amiss with leaving the records there on the off chance that you think you'll need it again not far off or allude to them later on.

In any case, you'll need to make sure you have some type of backup going to Time Machine or to another service, never let your Mac or iOS gadgets abandon backups!

0 comments:

Post a Comment